Remember reading articles in Time magazine that were longer than a paragraph and sometimes even two pages? In the age of perms, Pac Man, and library cards? Dinosaur times before technology morphed into our everyday lives?  These days, I don’t know a single friend’s phone number (speed dial), my pile of books is now a queue in my Sony reader, and I BLOG.  (Not to mention precious minutes spent trying to comb over the thin section of hair – from those bad perms!)

Times have changed in writing as well as the attention span of readers of books (myself included) competes with Facebook, Twitter, e:mails, and blogs, among other things.

A catchy hook snags the reader’s attention and leaves them wanting more. Few people will read an ENTIRE page, let alone a couple of paragraphs – unless you’ve captured their attention.

I think of those two page Time magazine articles, of days gone by, and wonder how I had the time to sit and . . . read!

With this in mind, I’ve been revisiting some of my favorite authors from all genres of writing.  Surprise!  The catchy hooks of these great books still draw me in.

Don’t you agree?

***

He awoke, opened his eyes. The room meant very little to him; he was too deeply immersed in the non-being from which he had just come. – “The Sheltering Sky” by Paul Bowles

Many years later, as he faced the firing squad, Colonel Aureliano Buendia was to remember that distant afternoon when his father took him to discover ice. ” 100 Years of Solitude” by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife. “Pride and Prejudice” by Jane Austen

*Nuns go by as quiet as lust, and drunken men and sober eyes sing in the lobby of the Greek hotel. “The Bluest Eyes” by Toni Morrison

*This is the third ‘beginning’ – you’ll have to read the entire first chapter to understand how brilliant this author is!)

Happy reading (and writing)!

